New writer for Grayskull!

My childhood was so....AWESOME

My childhood was so....AWESOME

It was reported that Warner Bros. decided to hire Evan Daugherty as the new screenwriter for the Grayskull movie, a gritty modern retelling of He-Man and the Masters of the Universe.

Being without an IMDB page, it seems that Evan is a rookie writer without a credit to his name. I’ve always wondered how rookies get gigs like this. I can understand having your script be picked up for the first time, but for someone to hire you to write a potential blockbuster with no past credit? Doesn’t add up.

I digress. This is significant to me in two ways – I just found out there had been plans to make a new He-Man movie, and that the movie is already being relatively fast tracked? How the hell did I not know of this project’s existence? I grew up idolizing He-Man. He, along with Biker Mice From Mars and Speed Racer formed my Saturday morning gauntlet. I made a He-Man chest thing (I’m not quite sure what to call it) out of duct tape, permanent marker and a whole lot of moxey, and took it to school with me. What did I care? I was six and I thought I was being extremely hip.

I’ve learned better.

Anyways, the only thing I’m worried about is the “gritty” being attached to this. What I want is camp, which is what the show was all about. I mean, just look at Orko. You can never make him gritty. Unless, of course, you make him some kind of hopped up meth hound.

Which would actually explain a lot.

With this and Speed Racer, that means only the Biker Mice are without a modern feature film. The marketing upside for this is huge, so make it happen Hollywood!

One Response to New writer for Grayskull!

  1. Orko says:

    I loved this show. In hindsight it was so bad, but I’m never goiung to rewatch the show so my nostalgia will forever remain in tact.

Leave a Reply

