Expending some thoughts…

ACTING!

ACTING!

*Click the picture above for the full gallery*

Well, it seems Stallone’s brainchild is finally coming to fruition. And I am pumped to see this. Say what you will about the man himself, but he knows how to make nostalgic-laden movies. Rocky brought a tear to me eye, especially when Stallone unrobed (God that stung my retina), and Rambo taught me the virtues of not being shot with a chaingun point blank.

So The Expendibles is pretty much Stallone’s magnum opus, harking back to the unmitigated insanity that was 80’s action movies. Although not as epic a cast as he would’ve hoped (No Van Damme, no Snipes, possibly no Schar-however you spell it), it does have Li, Statham, Lundgren and Rourke to carry the load.

Not bad company.

Really, though, all I want from this movie is blood. Guts. Gore. GLORY. I couldn’t give less of a damn about the story, and I will be quite upset if Stallone attempts any character development beyond archetypal stereotypes. I want him and his men to face anyone remotely resembling evil/Communists/mutated apes and just tear them the fuck apart. I want limbs ripping other limbs apart, despite how ludicrous it is in hindsight. I want to see Jet Li do that crazy kick he did at the end of Romeo Must Die. Except over and over and over again.

I want the main characters to bathe in the blood of their enemies, and hug it out at the end.

Then I will be happy.

One Response to Expending some thoughts…

Leave a Reply

